“Repent and Be Baptized…”

Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. (Acts 2:38 NIV)

20130528-153926.jpg

What a special weekend this was.  My baptism was held Friday, attended by my  family and friends.  It was a few years in the making but this time, I knew I was ready.  In fact, I shouldn’t have been afraid or waited so long for something so good, natural, and pure.

People say the biggest lie the enemy tells you about baptism is that you’re not ready.

I gave a testimony, and my voice quivered a bit but everyone told me I did well.  Hopefully, they were being honest- no lying in church!  Thankfully, the water was at an inviting warm temperature.  After I testified, I was placed under water for a second or two and lifted back up.  It was over as quickly.

The feeling is indescribable.  It’s not overwhelming, yet it’s not subtle.  I can say I felt  content and at peace.

It’s true what my pastor said, “you will never forget the day you were baptized.”

I’m so thankful that The Lord and the people around me and afar have helped to bring me this far.  I pray to continually be strengthened in my faith.

2 thoughts on ““Repent and Be Baptized…”

    • I was not. Infant baptisms are usually reserved to Catholics. Other Christian denominations “dedicate” infants to the faith. Full water baptisms are performed later on…I’ve seen young teens to middle-aged Christians get their full water baptisms.

Leave a Reply

